Browser games and Nimiq: ideas, suggestions and discussions

Hello everyone, as the title tells, this thread is about discussing Nimiq and browser games.
The topic is relatively relevant since browser games:

• Rely almost only on ads for monetization
  • Don’t have a practical access to microtransactions (we’re talking sub 10 cents buy)

Nimiq experience revolving around the web browser there are obvious synergies and opportunities here for integration and why not the rise of a new economic model.

With that in mind I thought it could be a good idea to try to list and reach some game developers.
Thoughts, ideas, suggestions?

3 Likes

Nimiq is great for micropurchases imo and many apps rely on that alongside ads for revenue.

I’ve also been researching the best ways to create a Nimiq paywall for a game that would work for a PWA.

2 Likes

Good topic, I have been making games for 20 years, here’s my 2nims worth.

Game conferences. Having visibility here is key as many devs, payment providers and publishers get together. Gdc, casual connect, game connection, nordic game would be good. Casual connect would be a great fit based on what I know of nimiq and the folk I met there. Entering as a game payment solution would definately garner interest.

A nimiq stand, a killer game demo, and a few sacks of those qr coins and stickers would go down a treat.

Here’s this years conference list, plenty to choose from (as the .com localises reach further afield).

https://www.gamesindustry.biz/network/events?year=2019

Techically js games are ripe.

Unity webgl should work with external js calls to hub, I will try and report back., Even better a free Unity Assetstore Nimiq asset of a hub port to their .jslib or even a c# client? would allow devs to easily integrate nimiq to their creations.

Unreal. Not sure about unreal but I recall Kunani was looking at this a while back.